Last updated: 9 September 2026
Quick Answer: In-home usage testing providers in the US in 2026 include Highlight, Decision Analyst, QualSights, Peekage and MFour, with Alchemic handling the post-use interviews. They differ on who recruits, who ships, and how feedback is captured: survey, diary, video or interview. Plan for two to twelve weeks end to end; mailing rules for liquids and perishables set the floor.
An in-home usage test puts a product into a household, lets people use it the way they would after buying it, and collects what they think while the experience is fresh. Decision Analyst traces the method to the first marketing research departments in consumer packaged goods, and the sensory literature has compared home tests with central location tests since the 1950s.
What changed in the past five years is who ships and who owns the panel. A category that meant a full-service agency with a warehouse now includes app-based panels, sampling networks and video-capture platforms.
Which Providers Run In-Home Usage Tests in the US?
Five companies document a US in-home usage testing service on their own sites: Highlight, Decision Analyst, QualSights, Peekage and MFour. Alchemic runs the feedback interviews after use rather than the logistics. Several more, including Rival Technologies and Adrich, sell software or usage-tracking technology that plugs into one of those services.
Each provider is strongest in a different part of the chain:
- Full-service with owned panel and warehouse. Decision Analyst owns consumer panels across the US of just under a million households, runs its own storage, packing and shipping facilities, and has tested packaged goods for over 45 years.
- Tech-enabled logistics platform. Highlight sells turnkey logistics with vetted testers for CPG brands and quotes a three-week cycle; its King's Hawaiian case study reports 94 percent completion among 180 participants.
- App-native panel with behavioral verification. MFour draws on 13 million opted-in panelists, supports monadic, sequential monadic and paired designs with a one-to-four-week usage period, and verifies home presence by GPS.
- Sampling network doubling as a test panel. Peekage recruits from a community of more than five million consumers across North America and combines product sampling with in-home testing, delivering data in days.
- In-the-moment video capture. QualSights triggers surveys, audio or video at the moment a product is used, so the feedback is captured during use rather than recalled afterward.
- Post-use interviews at scale. Alchemic runs AI-moderated interviews with the household after use, on WhatsApp, web or phone, and returns themes cited to verbatims and voice notes.
What Does an IHUT Provider Actually Handle, From Shipping to Report?
A full in-home usage test has seven steps. A provider's price and timeline depend on how many of them it owns: recruitment, screening, product preparation, shipping, usage-period contact, feedback capture, and analysis.
Recruitment and screening
The panel is the first cost driver. A provider with an owned, opted-in panel can recruit a category user in days. One that buys sample from a third party adds a week and a quality risk.
The Insights Association's Code of Standards requires that participation rest on accurate information about the task. A recruit told to expect a survey and then asked for a video diary is a code problem as well as a completion problem. MFour names the drop-off between "product shipped" and "survey completed" as the method's biggest pain point. It reports a 50 percent response rate and an 80 percent recontact rate on its app panel.
Product preparation and shipping
This is the step most buyers underestimate. It is also the one that sets the floor. The US Postal Service's Publication 52 governs hazardous, restricted and perishable mail. Its perishable matter chapter classes such items as mailable, mailable with restrictions, or prohibited, and defines them as anything that can deteriorate in transit and lose value, create a health hazard or cause an odor.
Its restricted materials section requires powders to travel in sift-proof containers and routes any corrosive, flammable or toxic liquid through the hazardous materials rules.
A provider that stores, packs and ships in-house, as Decision Analyst does with its own facilities and gloved handling staff, absorbs that work. One that asks the brand to ship does not. Ask early.
Usage period and feedback capture
Usage periods run one to four weeks across the providers on this page. What happens inside that window is the real difference between them. It might be a baseline survey, a mid-week check-in and a final evaluation on an app. It might be a video or photo triggered at the moment of use, a written diary, or an interview after the product has been used.
Analysis and claims
Providers that run monadic designs, where each household sees one product, produce numbers that can feed a claim. ASTM E1958, the Standard Guide for Sensory Claim Substantiation, was developed for use in the United States and covers attribute, performance and hedonic claims, including how to select representative consumer samples and handle the statistics. A provider quoting "preferred by consumers" copy should be able to say which part of that guide the test followed.
The 2025 ICC/ESOMAR International Code adds the other obligation: the commissioning brand is responsible for ensuring every contractor in the chain complies, shipping partner included.
How Do the Named Providers Compare?
The table reads each provider's own site as of 9 September 2026. "Not stated" means the site does not document it. Rows are alphabetical.
| Provider | Recruits the households | Ships the product | Feedback captured how | Turnaround they quote | Who runs the analysis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alchemic | Managed fieldwork or the brand's own list | Not a logistics provider; the brand or a partner ships | AI-moderated interview after use on WhatsApp, web or phone, voice notes preserved, themes cited to verbatims | First themes in a few days from locked stimulus | Research team plus live dashboard |
| Decision Analyst | Own US panels, just under a million households | Own storage, packing and shipping facilities | Monadic surveys under its Optima system; sensory research | Not stated on the service page | Full-service research team |
| Highlight | Vetted testers from its community panel | Turnkey logistics included | Surveys with photos, video testimonials and narratives | Three weeks; case study cites under two weeks to insight | Platform plus insights suite |
| MFour | 13M+ opted-in app panelists, GPS-verified | Coordinated with delivery confirmation triggering surveys | Staged push surveys: baseline, check-ins, final; behavioral validation | Usage period one to four weeks | Platform, sample sizes 100 to 300+ per cell |
| Peekage | 5M+ consumer community across North America | Fulfillment included with sampling | Surveys and reviews from the sampling community | Days rather than weeks, per its site | Platform |
| QualSights | Recruited participants | Not the focus of its documentation | Video, audio or survey triggered at the moment of use | Not stated | Platform with video analysis |
Decision Analyst and Highlight own the logistics slot outright, and a brand that needs 500 units of a chilled product delivered to screened households in three states should start there. Alchemic's row is the interview layer: it is the right choice when the question after use is why, in the respondent's own words and language, and it is not the right choice for shipping.
Common Mistakes When Reading a Provider Page
- Reading "panel size" as reach. A 13 million panel and a one million panel both recruit the same 150 category users. The useful number is how many qualified households the provider can place in the usage window, which none of them publishes.
- Assuming the platform ships. Video-capture and interview platforms document feedback, not fulfillment.
- Treating a case-study completion rate as a benchmark. Highlight's 94 percent among 180 participants is one study with one brand, and the sensory literature does not report a category average.
What Drives IHUT Cost and Timeline?
Four things move the cost and timeline of an in-home usage test. They are the product's mailability, the number of cells in the design, the length of the usage period, and how much of the chain the provider owns. Published timelines run from a few days for a single-cell sampling study to four to twelve weeks for a full-service monadic test with recruitment, shipping and analysis. Ownership is the multiplier.
Mailability first. A shelf-stable pouch and a chilled dairy product are different studies. Publication 52's perishable rules, and its hazardous materials chapter for flammable liquids and pressurized containers, decide whether the test needs cold chain, special packaging or a courier instead of the mail. That decision sets the shipping cost before a single household is recruited.
Cells and sample. MFour's guidance of 100 to 300 or more per cell for statistical precision means a three-variant monadic test needs 300 to 900 households. Decision Analyst's point that high panel response rates mean fewer products shipped is the same arithmetic from the other side: every household that never completes still received a product.
Usage period. A one-week window is enough for a snack; a laundry detergent or a skincare routine needs three to four. The window sets the earliest date the final survey can close and, for staged designs, the number of contacts the provider has to make.
Feedback depth. A five-question app survey costs less to capture than an interview and yields less. Where the study needs to know why a household stopped using a product on day four, the interview pays for itself. Alchemic's packaging testing runs 50 to 200 conversations in parallel in a typical round and 500 or more for national rollouts, with the fielding time set by recruitment rather than moderator capacity.
Where Does the Feedback Come From Once the Product Is in the Home?
Once the product is in the home, feedback comes from four sources, and each answers a different question. A survey gives a rating, a diary gives a timeline, a video gives the moment, and an interview gives the reason.
What the location evidence says
The academic evidence on location is more settled than the vendor claims suggest. A 2023 study comparing three test conditions, a central location test with 104 panelists, a home-use test with 120 and a no-contact home-use test with 111, found highly similar sensory profiles across all three, with RV coefficients above 0.93.
A longitudinal comparison using the same panel at home and in a booth found that people rated some samples higher at home and assigned fewer penalties, implying a less analytical mindset in their own kitchen. The home is a valid place to test. It is also a more generous one.
What the interview adds
That generosity is why the capture method matters. A rating collected at home drifts upward. A reason does not.
This is where Alchemic sits in the chain. After the usage period, the household gets an AI-moderated interview on WhatsApp, web or by phone, in the language they speak, including code-mixed Hindi and English, and can answer by voice note. The moderator probes when an answer is thin, catches a contradiction between day one and day seven, and links every theme back to the verbatim and the voice clip.
Qualitative and quantitative questions sit in the same interview. The brand gets the distribution and the quote from one field.
The interviews run as managed fieldwork or on the brand's own tester list. It publishes 57+ languages including Hindi, Tamil and Telugu, and has fielded in the USA and the UK as well as across India, the Gulf and Southeast Asia.
The guide to voice notes as qualitative data covers what a recorded answer adds over a typed one, and the CPG launch research sequence shows where the post-use interview sits between the concept test and the shelf test.
When Is a Central Location Test the Better Choice?
A central location test is the better choice in three cases. The product cannot be mailed, the comparison needs tight control of preparation and serving, or the study needs a trained panel rather than consumers. An in-home test wins on realism and on reach.
The Italian Sensory Science Society's remote testing project, published in Food Quality and Preference in 2021, drew the line clearly. Remote sensory testing under live supervision matched laboratory results for triangle, tetrad, descriptive and hedonic tests. The one exception was the tetrad test run at the workplace. Trained-panel discrimination work still wants control that a household cannot provide.
Three practical cases follow from that:
- The product needs preparation the household will get wrong. A recipe with a precise cook time, a device with a calibration step, a sample that must be served at a set temperature.
- The product cannot travel. Publication 52 decides this. Frozen goods, aerosols, and anything the hazardous materials chapter restricts cost more to ship than to serve in a facility.
- The design needs simultaneous comparison. Paired and side-by-side tests are easier to control in a booth, where a moderator can enforce order and timing.
For everything else, the home produces comparable sensory data and more realistic usage data. The packaging testing platforms comparison covers the shelf and pack side of the same decision.

